Do you like Marquee Theater?


17th September 2017 - Sunday 18:30

Epica, Holland’s symphonic metal artists are bringing their signature sounds to the Marquee Theater!

The band was formed in 2002 (under the moniker Sahara Dust) in Reuver (Limburg, Netherlands) by guitarist and vocalist Mark Jansen after he left Dutch symphonic and progressive metal band After Forever. He recruited Simone Simons (his girlfriend at the time) on lead vocals, guitarist Ad Sluijter, drummer Jeroen Simons, bassist Yves Huts, and keyboard player Coen Janssen to complete the line-up. They decided to change their name to Epica after taking inspiration from the eponymous album by Kamelot (an American power metal band). They also added a 6 person choir and a string orchestra (three violins, two violas, two cellos and an upright bass) to the line-up. The band’s had many line-up changes over the years and currently consists of Mark Jansen (rhythm guitar, growls, screams), Coen Janssen (keyboards, synthesizer, piano), Simone Simons (lead vocals), Ariën van Weesenbeek (drums, spoken words, growls), Isaac Delahaye (lead guitar, backing vocals), and Rob van der Loo (bass). They’ve had a stellar career with 6 studio albums, 3 live albums, 2 compilation albums, 2 video albums, 8 music videos, 1 EP, and 11 singles. They also worked on the entire soundtrack of the 2005 adventure mystery film Joyride. Their latest album (The Holographic Principle) comes out in September 2016.

Don’t miss your chance to see these artists add a unique touch to symphonic metal!